Legal status of marijuana in the state of Connecticut


Legal status of marijuana in the state of Connecticut

MEDICAL MARIJUANA IN CONNECTICUT

Since 2012, medical marijuana is legal for patients with a prescription from a licensed physician in Connecticut. About 18,000 patients are currently receiving medical marijuana.

In 2016 a new law was introduced that allows also minors to qualify for medical marijuana.

The qualifying conditions to become a medical marijuana patient in Connecticut include:

  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
  • Cachexia (wasting syndrome)
  • Cancer
  • Cerebral palsy
  • Complex Regional Pain Syndrome
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Cystic fibrosis
  • damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Hydrocephalus with intractable headaches
  • Intractable migraines
  • irreversible spinal cord injury with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Post Laminectomy Syndrome with Chronic Radiculopathy
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • severe Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis
  • Sickle Cell Disease
  • terminal illness requiring end of life care
  • Trigeminal Neuralgia
  • Ulcerative colitis
  • uncontrolled intractable seizure disorder

The qualifying conditions for patients under 18 include:

  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Cystic Fibrosis
  • Irreversible Spinal Cord Injury with Objective Neurological Indication of
    Intractable Spasticity
  • severe Epilepsy
  • terminal Illness Requiring End-Of-Life Care
  • uncontrolled Intractable Seizure Disorder

RECREATIONAL MARIJUANA IN CONNECTICUT

Possession of small amounts of cannabis for personal use has been decriminalized in 2011. Technically the cultivation, sale, and possession of cannabis for recreational purposes are still illegal in Connecticut.

Since the decriminalization of cannabis in 2011, you will most likely get off with a fine if you get caught with a small portion of cannabis that is clearly for personal use. In this case, you could get a fine up to $150. If it would be your second time, this could get up to $500. If you are younger than 21, you might lose your drivers license for up to 60 days.

The amount of cannabis which is considered for personal use is up to 1/2 oz (14 grams). Getting caught with more will certainly get you in more trouble.

Getting caught with 1/2 - 4 oz can lead to up to 1 year in jail and/or a fine up to $1,000. If that happens more than once you risk 5 years in jail and/or a fine up to $3000.

Carrying even more than 4 oz (first offense) might get you a whopping jail sentence of up to 5 years and if it would not be the first time, you could go to jail for up to 19 years.

We are not aware of any possible law changes in the (near) future in Connecticut regarding medical and/or recreational cannabis.