Legal status of marijuana in the state of North Carolina


Legal status of marijuana in the state of North Carolina

MARIJUANA IN NORTH CAROLINA

North Carolina has a very restrictive medical marijuana program, allowing only the use of CBD oil. The oil has to have a THC percentage lower than 0,9% and a CBD percentage higher than 5%.

The production, sale, and possession of any other form of medicinal marijuana are illegal in North Carolina.

The only qualifying condition to become a medical marijuana patient in North Carolina is:

  • Intractable epilepsy

RECREATIONAL MARIJUANA IN NORTH CAROLINA

Although North Carolina has more or less decriminalized the possession of small amounts of cannabis for personal use, the cultivation, sale, and possession of cannabis for recreational purposes are still illegal.

If you get caught with 0,5 oz (14 grams) is treated as a misdemeanor and will get you just a fine of up to $200.

Getting caught with 0,5-1,5 oz is still treated as a misdemeanor but might land you in jail for up to 45 days and get you a fine of up to $1,000.

Getting caught with between 1,5 oz and 10 lbs is seen as a felony and can land you in jail for up to 8 months and get you a fine of up to $1,000.

In the beginning of 2017, a bill was filed by North Carolina lawmakers to legalize medical marijuana. The bill will first have to pass the North Carolina Medical Cannabis Act before it has any chance of ending up on the ballot in the November 2017 election.